# LEICESTER, LEICESTERSHIRE AND RUTLAND POLICE AND CRIME PANEL – 26th July 2023

#### REPORT OF THE CITY BARRISTER - LEICESTER CITY COUNCIL

#### **Review of Panel Membership**

#### **Purpose of this Report**

1. The purpose of this report is to consider the Panel's membership and any changes required to meet the balanced appointment objective as required by legislation.

# **Background and current arrangements**

2. The Panel needs to review its membership at its Annual General Meeting and/or following elections which may have affected the Panel's political balance.

## **Elected Members and proportional representation**

- 3. The statutory requirement is for a Panel of 10 Councillors and 2 Independent Members. The ten Councillors **must** include one from each local authority in the area i.e. City, County, Rutland and seven Districts. However, in establishing the Panel it is necessary to ensure the membership:-
- i. Represents all parts of the relevant police area (geographic balance);
- ii. Represents the political make-up of the relevant authority or relevant authorities (when taken together);
- iii. Has the necessary skills, knowledge and experience to discharge their functions effectively.
- 4. When the Panel was established in 2012 the decision was taken to establish a Panel of 15 Members made up as follows:
- 8 Members representing the County Areas (7 nominated by the Districts and 1 by the County)
- 4 City Members
- 1 Rutland Member
- 2 Independent Co-opted Members
- 5. This make-up was to ensure that 'all parts of the relevant police area' were appropriately represented, hence the decision to allow four City representatives to reflect the fact it accounts for nearly 1/3<sup>rd</sup> of the population served by the Police Constabulary. The size of the PCP was agreed with the Home Office and any decision to increase the size would need Home Office approval. It is therefore proposed that the size of the Panel remain unchanged.
- 6. Council elections took place in 9 out of the 10 Local Authority Areas on May 4<sup>th</sup> 2023. This saw significant changes in the political make-up and political control of the LLR constituent authorities.
- Two areas are in majority Conservative control Leicestershire County and Blaby
- Two areas are in majority Liberal Democrat control Hinckley & Bosworth and Oadby & Wigston
- One area is majority Labour controlled City
- Five areas have no party with an overall majority, and are operating coalition or minority control arrangements Charnwood, Harborough, Melton, NWL, Rutland

- 7. Based on this and the current political balance and control of local authorities as set out in the table at Appendix A the following Panel membership is presented:
- Five Conservative appointees Leicestershire County Council, Blaby, NWLDC, 2 x City Council
- Four Labour appointees 2 x City Council, Charnwood, Melton
- Three Liberal Democrat appointees Hinckley & Bosworth, Oadby & Wigston, Rutland
- One Green appointee Harborough
- 8. As will be seen from Appendix A the actual composition of the Panel does not align precisely with the mathematical requirements for political balance. There are no Independent appointees despite the calculation that allocates one seat to an Independent Councillor. There are four Labour appointees despite the mathematical apportionment of three seats to Labour. However it is worth noting that:
- There was a significant shift in political control across the Districts in May 2023.
- The LLR Police and Crime Panel has never aligned its membership perfectly with the mathematical formulae. For the majority, if not the entirety, of its existence prior to the most recent elections the panel has always comprised one extra Labour Member (to reflect the political control of the City) and one extra Conservative Member (to reflect the political control of the Districts prior to May 2023), and accordingly one place has historically been sacrificed from each of the Liberal Democrat and Independent categories

### Members (Local Authority)

Cllr Taylor Leicestershire County Council Cllr Phillimore - Blaby Cllr Woodman -NWL (Cllr Wyatt until September 2023) Cllr Joannu City Council Cllr Agath City Council Cllr Russell City Council Cllr Clarke City Council Cllr Blackshaw -Charnwood Cllr Cox Melton Cllr Mullaney Hinckley & Bosworth Cllr Loydall Oadby & Wigston Cllr Wise Rutland Cllr Woodiwiss - Harborough

9. Following a recruitment process undertaken in 2021, two Independent Co-opted Members were appointed. At this point therefore no further changes are required to the Independent Co-opted

membership. A report will be presented to a future meeting of the Panel to begin the process for considering any reappointments/recruitment as necessary.

# Members (Independent)

Parisha Chavda	
Salma Manzoor	

#### **Recommendations**

**10.** To agree that no changes are required to the political make-up of the panel and that the Membership of the Panel be noted.

# **Background Papers and Published Documents**

- i. The Police Reform and Social Responsibility Act 2011 (published)
- ii. Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland Police and Crime Panel Arrangements (published).

# For any enquiries about the report please contact:

Anita James, Senior Democratic Support Officer, Democratic Services,

Leicester City Council.

Tel: 0116 4546358

Email: Anita.James2@leicester.gov.uk