Agenda item

General Fund Budget 2023/24

Council is asked to approve the recommendations set out on page 71.


The City Mayor submitted his proposed budget for 2023/24. The report contained details of the financial pressures facing the Council, the proposed budget strategy including assessments of risk, and impact and consultation outcomes.


Details of the City Mayor’s Recommendation of General Fund Revenue Budget 2023/24 and the General Fund Revenue Budget and Council Tax 2023/24 – Formal Resolutions were circulated to members prior to the meeting and are attached to these minutes.


Moved by the City Mayor, seconded by Councillor Cassidy:


“That Council


a)  Thanks scrutiny committees who have commented on our draft budget, the comments were attached to the report;


b)  Notes the comments made in the City Mayor’s formal Recommendation to Council Notice published on 21 February 2023 and attached as Appendix B to the script, made available at the meeting an attached to these minutes;


c)  Approves the recommendations set out in section 3.1 of the report ‘General Fund Revenue Budget 2023/24’ without amendment; and


d)  Approve the formal resolutions for the General Fund Budget 2023/24, including the City Mayor’s recommendations, which are attached as Appendix C to the script, made available at the meeting and attached to these minutes.


The Lord Mayor put the motion to the vote.


It was noted that under the requirements of The Local Authorities (Standing Orders) (England) (Amendments) Regulations 2014 the names of the Councillors voting for or against the proposition or abstaining would be recorded by the City Barrister and Monitoring Officer and included in the minutes of the meeting.


For the motion:

Councillors Aldred, Ali, Barton, Batool, Cank, Cassidy, Chamund, Clair, Clarke, Cole, Cutkelvin, Dawood, Dempster, Fonseca, Gee, Halford, Joshi, Khan, Kitterick, Malik, Master, Moore, Myers, Nangreave, Pantling, Patel, Pickering, Rahman, Rae Bhatia, Kaur Saini, Singh Johal, Singh Sandhu, Solanki, Soulsby, Thalukdar, Valand, Waddington, Westley, Whittle, Willmott


Against the motion:

Councillors Bajaj, Broadwell, Crewe, Modhwadia, O’Donnell, Porter


The Lord Mayor declared the motion carried.

Supporting documents: